Civilization: Beyond Earth, the next game in the multi-award winning series from Firaxis, will be shown off live this Thursday on Twitch.tv.

The broadcast is taking place on 08/07/14 at 11 AM PDT (2 PM EDT, 7 PM BST), and will be the first time the upcoming title has been live streamed to the general public. If you’d like to watch, check out the Firaxis Twitch account at the above times.

Civilization: Beyond Earth is due for release in the fall, and is the latest title in the long running and much loved strategy series.

Famous for its “just one more turn” addictive qualities, previous Civilization titles have had the player guide their faction/nation from the dawn of time to the space age in their quest for supremacy.

Beyond Earth is seen by many as the spiritual successor to 1999’s Civilization: Alpha Centauri, and tasks the player with the colonization of an alien world.

By shifting the focus from mother Earth, Firaxis have opened up a whole new set of challenges for players in Beyond Earth. During the game players will have to deal with strange hostile life forms and exploit exotic alien resources, all while keeping competing civilisations at bay.

There is always some concern when an old classic receives an update, but given Firaxis’s track record with Civilization 5 and X-Com: Enemy Unknown we could well be in for something a little special.

Are you looking forward to Beyond Earth, or do you think classic franchises should be left in peace? Let us know in the comments section.